Organization of the AFITF


The AFITF is headed by a Chairman who is entitled with the executive function of the Agency. The Chairman delegates a Secretary General to ensure the regular operation of the AFITF. The Budgetary Controller and the Accounting Officer, respectively, approve and carry out all payments made by the AFITF.

The Board of Directors

Following the articles R1512-13 and R1512-14 and R1512-15 of the Transport Code:

The AFITF is managed by a Board of Directors.
The Board of Directors makes the decisions related to the operations of the Agency through its deliberations.
It deliberates in particular on its budget and financial account closure.
It decides on the financial supports that the Agency brings to infrastructure projects in application of the article R. 1512-12 of the Code of Transports.
It authorizes the Agency to contract loans within the limit of an annual ceiling fixed by the Parliament in Finance Law. (However, this ceiling does not apply to the loans contracted to cover the cash requirements during the year related to the implementation of the institution’s budget and the timing differences between cash receipts and disbursements within the same financial year.)
It votes financing agreements to support Transport Infrastructure projects in France.
The votes related to the budget of the Agency shall be deemed to be approved in the absence of objection by the Minister of Transport or the Minister responsible for Budget within fifteen days of their receipt by each of those ministers.
The board of directors establishes its rules of procedure.

The Board of Directors is composed of twelve members including:

1. Six representatives of the State:
a) The interministerial delegate for regional planning and regional attractiveness or his/her representative;
(b) The Director of Budget or his/her representative;
(c) The Director General of the Treasury or his/her representative;
(d) The Director General of Infrastructures, Transports and Sea or his/her representative;
e) The Director of Transportation Infrastructure or his/her representative;
(f) The Commissioner-General for Sustainable Development or his/her representative;

2. A Deputy and a Senator, three local elected officials and a qualified personality.
The Chairman, chosen from the members of the board of directors, and among the members of this second college, are appointed by decree for a renewable period of three years.
The age limit of the Chairman of the Board of Directors is seventy years.
In the event of a vacancy, for any reason whatsoever, of one of the seats of the second college, within two months the defaulting member shall be replaced by a new member of the same category appointed under the same conditions. The term of office of the new member expires on the date on which the term of his predecessor would normally have expired.

The members of the Board of Directors are not remunerated for their duties. They are entitled to compensation for travel and accommodation expenses under the same conditions as applicable to French civil servants.
The Board of Directors meets at least twice a year. The Chairman sets the agenda for the meeting and steers the discussions. The deliberations are taken by the majority of the members present. In the event of a tie vote, the President has the casting vote.
The General Economic and Financial Controller and the Accounting Officer attend the deliberations of the board of directors in an advisory capacity.

The Secretary General

The President of the AFITF, being invested according to Article 4 of the Statutory Decree of the AFITF, of the executive function of the Agency grants delegations of signature to the Secretary General, who manage the day-to-day operations of the Agency.

The General Secretariat is a very small team headed by the Secretary General, who acts as a director assisted by a Deputy Secretary General. The functions of the Secretary-General include:
- an analysis and watch on draft budget measures likely to have an impact on the current year or on the coming years;
- the preparation of the Board’s deliberations, in particular the budget documents and the drafting of Financial Agreements;
- their implementation of the Board’s decisions related to the Financial engagements and payments of the Agency;
- the preparation and follow-up of the Agency’s cash flow with a view to ensure financial stability, taking into account revenue collection during the year and the priorities defined, the elaboration and the update of (in particular financial) dashboards, as well as the preparation of the Agency’s Annual Activity Report.

The Accounting Officer and Budgetary Controller

The financial and accounting operation of the Agency is ensured under the conditions stipulated in Decree No 2012-1246 of 7 November 2012 on Public Budget and Accounting Management.
The Public Accountant of the Agency who holds the title of Accounting Officer and who is appointed by the Minister in charge of the Budget is responsible for keeping the general accounts and for carrying out the operations of receipts and expenses.
Budgetary control is exercised under the authority of the Minister responsible for the Budget by the Head of Budgetary and Accounting Control Department of the Ministry in charge of Transports and ensures the sustainability of the budget of the Agency, the in particular in view of the financial commitments and payments by the Agency. The interministerial Decree of 20 October 2011, which specifies the conditions for this control, must be brought into line with the decree of 7 November 2012 on Public Budget and Accounting Management.
The Accounting Officer and the Budget Controller both attend the Boards of Directors in an advisory capacity.